Friday, July 22, 2016

THE PROCESS Release a ‘Must-Have’ Modern Masterpiece


It is a remarkable feat in itself that the visionary regional band known as The Process has lasted for 25-years with its essential line-up intact; but with their newest release that is now available on both CD and download, the group has achieved a miraculous career pinnacle and managed to create a musical masterpiece that if there is any justice in this world, should easily catapult them into the Major League.

Entitled Who Is That Mad Band?  this amazing tapestry of 13-tracks should be a MUST HAVE for anybody serious about modern music and is easily one of the most innovative and accessible recordings I have heard released all year. Seven years in the making and spanning six studios worldwide, each of the tracks shimmers with strong melodic musical hooks and shines with impeccable production values that propel the tightly constructed musical performances into stellar levels of perfection.

With all songs written by David Asher & Garrick Owen, the various tracks were recorded in Saginaw at Fire Hyena Studios and engineered by Chris Lewis, as well as U Be U Studios with Gee Pierce, Area 51 Studios in Flint with engineer Bernard Terry, and On U Sound Studios in London with engineer Matt Smyth and Brandon Harding, along with Soundhouse Studios in Ramsgate, UK with legendary engineer Skip McDonald, in addition to Workhouse Studios in Los Angeles with engineer David Harrow.

Consisting of David Asher on vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, drums & percussion; Garrick Owen on guitars; Bill Heffelfinger on guitars, bass, keyboards, drums & programming; Gabe Gonzalez on drums & backing vocals; and Seth Payton on bass, keyboards, guitars, percussion, backing vocals & horn arrangements, additional musicians include backing vocalists Mikki Sound, Michelle Shaw, Faith Gateway, Maria Rose; percussionists Earl ‘the Squirrel’ and Derrick Davis; and horns courtesy of John Rickert, Matt Wickie & Dennis Lewandowski.  Additional guitarists include David Ivory, Pete Metropoulos; with additional production provided by Skip McDonald, Adrian Sherwood and David Harrow.

But the exceptionally gratifying surprise on this release is with the guest appearance of legendary guitarist Dick Wagner, who turns in one of his final performances before his untimely passing on the remarkable track, Dr Jekyll & Mr. Hyde.  To hear Wagner’s guitar soar above the hypnotically entrancing hook-lines into the stratosphere with his signature inventiveness is worth the price of admission alone.

Further currency is added by the appearance of Ghetto Priest on the track The Lion of Judah Hath Prevailed and also with the help of legendary reggae icon Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry’ on the haunting track, Return the Treasures.

With some of the strongest melodic lines they have created to date, bathed and propelled by intricately constructed rhythms, each track builds upon the next into a breathtaking crescendo that is – hands down – some of the best new work you are likely to experience.

Another particular stand-out is The Process reading of the classic Traffic number, Dear Mr. Fantasy, with an arrangement by Heffelfinger and vocals by Asher that are precise, carefully enunciated, and completely compelling – easily one of the best versions of the song that I’ve ever heard.

Equally compelling is the mesmerizing cadence of Return the Treasures, which is infused with Perry’s mystical aura and is based upon the true story of Seymour McClain, who had a mission to repatriate the crown jewels sitting in the British Museum that the British stole from Ethiopia after their invasion in the 1880s.

According to Asher, “The Emperor of Ethiopia kidnapped some envoys of Queen Victoria, so the British sent an envoy into Ethiopia and killed the Emperor and stole the jewels. The British even nailed his scalp to the doorway, so it was pretty barbarous. Seymour asked me to write a song about it, but he passed away, so I decided to write Return the Treasures as a tribute to Seymour. We finished it in one day and then Skip started adding midi stuff and guitar parts, the second day we slogged through more keyboards and midi in a 12-hour day, which again was very taxing. I’m used to spending five hours in a studio and even then I can get a bit fried. But during the mixing, we were able to get Lee Perry onto the track, so it was all an incredibly worthwhile experience.”

Who Is That Mad Band? can be purchased at Records & Tape Galore in Saginaw and online by visiting I-Tunes, CD Baby and

Monday, June 20, 2016

THE PROCESS "Who Is That Mad Band?" Now Available on ITunes!

THE PROCESS "Who Is That Mad Band?" now available on iTunes
Click here to Buy!

Featuring performances from legendary artists Dick Wagner, Little Axe, Adrian Sherwood, Ghetto Priest, David Harrow, Mikki Sound, and Lee "Scratch" Perry!

Click here to buy the CD at CDBaby
Click Here to buy the CD at Amazon
Click Here to Purchase the Download at Rhapsody

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

CD Now Available To Purchase Online!

CD available now (internationally) to purchase online
"Who Is That Mad Band?",
the new album from THE PROCESS!
With guest artists Dick Wagner, Adrian Sherwood, Little Axe, Ghetto Priest, Lord Kimo, David Harrow, Mikki Sound and Lee Perry.

Click Here To Buy. 

Monday, June 13, 2016

"Who Is That Mad Band?" now on Spotify!

The new album from THE PROCESS, "Who Is That Mad Band?" is now available to stream and download on Spotify

Friday, June 10, 2016

Download available now!

Download available now! (CD available soon). 
"Who Is That Mad Band?" 
the new album from THE PROCESS!

Buy the download of the album.

Tuesday, May 03, 2016

THE PROCESS "Who Is That Mad Band" to be released July 2016

July 2016 beholds the long awaited release of the new full length album from Detroit's Rock Reggae Madmen, THE PROCESS. 

The album, entitled "Who Is That Mad Band?", features a stunning array of guest artists, including one of the final recordings of the late legendary rock guitarist Dick Wagner (Alice Cooper, Lou Reed), as well as Dub music Legend Adrian Sherwood, UK Vocalist Ghetto Priest, former Asian Dub Foundation MC Lord Kimo, Dub/Blues artist Skip McDonald aka Little Axe, Electronic music Producer David Harrow and the voice of Dub Reggae Legend Lee "Scratch" Perry . Over five years in the making, the album captures THE PROCESS delivering it's most diverse and cohesive statement yet, fusing Reggae, Rock and World Music into a seamless aural experience, sure to please long-time fans of the band, as well as the uninitiated. The CD will be released in July, 2016, so do yourself a favor, and find out WHO IS THAT MAD BAND? GET PROCESSED!

Join THE PROCESS for two album release events in July. 

Friday July 8th, Whites Bar Presents: THE PROCESS "WHO IS THAT MAD BAND?" CD Listening Party! Doors open at 10 Pm.  Address: 2609 State St, Saginaw, MI 48602 Phone:(989) 792-2631. 
Saturday July 23rd, Bemo's Bar Presents: The Official CD Release Party for THE PROCESS "WHO IS THAT MAD BAND?". Featuring THE PROCESS Live In Concert, with Special Guests, TBA. Doors open at 9:00 Pm, THE PROCESS performs at 11:00. 21+ No cover!  Address: 701 S Madison Ave, Bay City, MI 48708 Phone:(989) 893-7071 
Join THE PROCESS as we unleash our newest album. Pick up signed copies, and other exclusive merchandise from THE PROCESS. Don't miss these special events, BE THERE!

Friday, March 18, 2016

2016 Detroit Music Awards!

THE PROCESS has been Nominated "Outstanding World Group" in the 2016 Detroit Music Awards! Congratulations also to THE PROCESS drummer Gabe Gonzalez, Nominated in the categories of "Outstanding Electronic/Dance Writer/Producer", and "Outstanding Urban Musician". The Detroit Music Awards are held April 29th, 2016, at The Fillmore in Detroit. Congratulations to all of the nominees!